

<u>2B</u>

AITKIN COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

July 23, 2024 9:00 a.m. Government Center Board Room

Regular Session Minutes

1.A CALL TO ORDER

Chair Wedel called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

| Attendee Name | Title | Status |
|-------------------|--------------------------|---------|
| J. Mark Wedel | District #1 | Present |
| Laurie Westerlund | District #2 | Present |
| Travis Leiviska | District #3 | Present |
| Bret Sample | District #4 | Present |
| Michael Kearney | District #5 | Present |
| Jessica Seibert | County Administrator | Present |
| April Kellerman | Administrative Assistant | Present |

1.B PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

1.C APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the agenda, as amended.

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Bret Sample

SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney

Switched presentation order for 5B & 5C

- 1.D Health & Human Services (see separate HHS Agenda)
- 1.E Citizens Public Comment None

2 CONSENT AGENDA

Motion to: Approve the Consent Agenda.

RESULT:

APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER:

Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

SECONDER:

Commissioner Michael Kearney

A) Correspondence File-

July 9, 2024 - July 22, 2024

B) Approve County Board Minutes-

July 9, 2024

C) Approve Electronic Funds Transfers

Total \$1,146,985.02

D) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Auditor Warrants 07.05.24

| General \$735.25 R&B \$82,012.79 Total \$82,748.0 | General \$735.25 R&B \$8 |
|---|--------------------------|
|---|--------------------------|

E) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Auditor Warrant - Sales/Use & Diesel Tax, June 2024

| | | | | | _ |
|-----------------|----------------|----------------|---------------|-------------------------|---|
| General \$94.25 | | R&B \$1,034.45 | Trust \$34.04 | LLCC \$63.83 | |
| | Parks \$335.24 | | | Total \$1,561.81 | 1 |

F) Approve-

Board Ratification - IFS Contract

G) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

Manual Warrants 07.09.24

| General \$761.71 | State \$22,675.73 | LLCC \$577.95 | Parks | \$50.00 |
|------------------|-------------------|---------------|-------|-------------|
| | | | Total | \$24,065.39 |

H) Approve Auditor Vouchers-

Auditor Warrants 07.12.24

| General \$12,935.24 | Taxes \$4,203.64 | Total | \$17,138.88 |
|---------------------|------------------|-------|-------------|

I) Adopt Resolution-

Search & Rescue Donation - Great River Energy

J) Approve Manual Warrants/Voids/Corrections-

ELAN 06.21.24

| General \$5,610.63 | Trust \$39.80 | Forest \$249.00 | LLCC \$3,225.66 | |
|--------------------|----------------|-----------------|-------------------------|----|
| HHS \$1,130.23 | Opioid \$16.03 | R&B \$529.00 | Total \$10,800.3 | 35 |

K) Adopt Resolution-

K-9 Donation - Aitkin Municipal Liquor Store

L) Approve-

AutoCAD License Renewal

M) Adopt Resolution-

Accept bid for crushing gravel

N) Approve Commissioner's Vouchers

Commissioner Warrants 07.19.24

| General | \$252,985.32 | Reserves | \$17,594.14 | R&B | \$387,291.75 | HHS | \$32,017.92 |
|---------|--------------|----------|-------------|-------|--------------|--------|--------------|
| Debt | \$135,007.51 | State | \$9,579.84 | Trust | \$12,709.91 | Forest | \$1,016.20 |
| LLCC | \$5,523.79 | Parks | \$9,073.16 | COVID | \$13,400.00 | Total | \$876,199.54 |

O) Information Only

Investment Report

P) Approve-

Personnel Policy Update

Regular Agenda

3A Mike Dangers - County Assessor

Motion to:

Approve Mobile Assessor Software

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund

SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample

3B Mike Dangers – County Assessor

Motion to:

Approve Fiscal Recovery Funds request

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney

4A John Welle – County Engineer

Motion to:

Approve 2023 Annual Report

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample

SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

5A Dennis Thompson – Land Commissioner

Motion to:

Approve Contract with Widseth for wetland delineation and report for ATV trail

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

5C Dennis Thompson – Land Commissioner

Motion to:

Adopt Resolution - County participation in class action lawsuit settlement agreement

RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0)

MOVER: Commissioner Bret Sample
SECONDER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska

Dennis Thompson - Land Commissioner Informational Only Presentation on the new tax law **INFORMATIONAL ONLY** RESULT: MOVER: SECONDER: Jim Bright - Facilities Coordinator 6A Motion to: Approve Jail HVAC controls proposal **RESULT:** APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Michael Kearney winning bid awarded to Climate Makers Jim Bright - Facilities Coordinator 6B Motion to: Approve Contract with Climate Makers for HVAC controls **RESULT:** APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund Jim Bright – Facilities Coordinator 6C Motion to: Approve Fiscal Recovery Funds request RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund SECONDER: Commissioner Bret Sample Jessica Seibert - County Administrator 7A Motion to: Approve Data Practices Revisions RESULT: APPROVED (5 TO 0) MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund 7В Jessica Seibert - County Administrator Informational Only 2nd Quarter 2023 Budget Review **INFORMATIONAL ONLY** RESULT: MOVER: SECONDER: 7C Jessica Seibert - County Administrator Informational Only Administrator Updates Wetlands Discussion, JET meeting, County Fair, almost all Budget meetings held, MCACA Summer Tech, AFSCME HHS Negotiations, Regular 1:1s **Board of Commissioners** 88 Informational Only Commissioner Committee Reports County Fair, Planning Committee, Mississippi Headwaters Board, Paddle Your Glass Off event, Joint Powers Natural Resource Board, Snake River 1W1P Policy, MN Rural Counties, Towards Zero Deaths Motion to Adjourn Motion made at 12:25 p.m. MOVER: Commissioner Travis Leiviska SECONDER: Commissioner Laurie Westerlund **Next Meeting:** Tuesday, August 13, 2024 J. Mark Wedel, Board Chair Jessica Seibert Aitkin County Board of Commissioner County Administrator